Poets logo

to truly be free

My entry for "The Little Things" challenge

By SpratPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
to truly be free
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

To truly be free

Is to smell coffee in the morning

With a little too much cream and sugar

To truly be free

Is to see the leaves change color in the fall

As you’re driving home in the afternoon

To truly be free

Is to look in your checking account

And see a balance that exceeds $100

I can’t describe what I felt

When I crossed the bridge the first time

Seeing the buildings up ahead

I can’t describe what I felt

Counting the slugs on the porch that evening

As they made their way across to the damp soil

I made up a story in my head for them

And how each night they made their journey

I feel bad that I stepped on one

Everyone tells me that it will be okay

I believe them

But I don’t feel it

There are places where time is altered

Like the room with gray walls

And the porch with the slugs

There are places where time is altered

Like the public pool on a weekday

The water made me feel heavy

I wish I could go back in time

Be a different person

In a place where the little things didn’t matter

Instead my brain is foggy

And I lie awake at night

I want to connect the dots on the ceiling

____________________________________________________

Follow me on Twitter & Instagram

If you like my content, please consider leaving a small tip. It's never required, but always appreciated.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Sprat

Welcome to my journal. There's a bit of everything here. Trying to focus on the good.

Twitter @snaildust

Instagram @spratwrites

https://linktr.ee/sprat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.