Poets logo

To the home I never had

Goodbye

By MarissaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
To the home I never had
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

I wish you had seen me grow with my height marks on the wall, Watching me run down the stairs when I heard that dinner call.

I wish you saw me graduate from the 6th grade, Or bringing home presents from school made from paper mâché.

I wish you had watched me grow from kindergarten to 12th, watching me go from happy to battling mental health

I wish you had seen my brothers walk across that stage, Watching them leave the house like birds leaving a cage.

I wish you had seen the holidays when the family came around, Picking our favorite Christmas tree and cutting it to the ground.

I wish you had seen my parents argue but make it through every fight, Watching me study for tests and staying up all night.

I wish you had seen our dog pass and wishing that he’d come Home, remembering him as a good boy that just likes to roam.

I wish you had seen me cry on the first day of school, looking back on it now I know I looked like a fool.

I wish you had seen my dad land a job that he finally loves, I wish that we had camp nights in our yard looking at stars above.

I wish you could watch me grow up and move far away, pursuing my idea of happiness and growing more everyday.

I wish you could see my wedding day walking down those stairs, looking all beautiful in my dress and my bomb looking hair.

I wish you could see my children coming to meet you for the first time, staying with grandma and grandpa learning which words rhyme

I wish you watched my parents grow old until they passed away, and you were passed down to me and my brothers to remember them everyday

I wish you came in the beginning and stayed from then to the end, Buh every 3 years we decided to move I never had forever friends.

So just like the rest of the homes we had I wish that you were my last, Buh you weren’t good enough for them so I have to leave you in my past.

Goodbye to the home that I wish we had kept for it was the only one that I thought would last long, I wish this time we had stayed but I guess like the rest I was wrong.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.