Poets logo

To the Guy I Thought was the One

By AR

By ARPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
To the Guy I Thought was the One
Photo by Yuvraj Singh on Unsplash

Maybe it was my fault it didn’t work out.

Maybe I expected too much.

I might have been unreasonable.

I guess I could’ve been controlling.

Perhaps I was insecure.

I suppose I didn’t really trust you.

It’s possible I romanticized you.

I guess I asked you to be someone you’re not.

I probably cared too much about people’s opinions.

I was wrapped up in my own anxieties.

Maybe it was my fault it didn’t work out.

Maybe I expected too much

When I thought you’d be excited to be with me after seven years of pining.

I might have been unreasonable

To expect that you would treat me with the same respect you did when I was unattainable to you.
I guess I could’ve been controlling

When I told you you couldn’t sleep with other people.

Perhaps I was insecure

When you continued to ask if you could.

I suppose I didn’t trust you

When you said you “probably” wouldn’t want others in your bed if we were able to share it more frequently.

It’s possible I romanticized you

As the person who would always recognize my worth.

I guess I asked you to be someone you’re not

When I wanted you to be the same person who helped me recognize worth in myself when I couldn’t see it.

I probably cared too much about people’s opinions

When I let you make me feel small.

I was wrapped up in my own anxieties

When I was too busy worrying that I wouldn’t live up to your expectations to notice that you didn’t live up to mine.

Maybe it was my fault it didn’t work out.

I’m sorry I didn’t wake up sooner.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

AR

I'm a freelance creative who loves writing poetry and short stories. I hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.