Poets logo

To The 12 Year Old I Used To Be

A letter to a younger self

By Abby JacobsenPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
1
To The 12 Year Old I Used To Be
Photo by Rinck Content Studio on Unsplash

I don’t know

if you remember me

recognize me

*

see the girl you are

in me, in who you’re going to be

*

I just want you to know

its ok, the not knowing

your worth doesn’t depend on how much you can know

*

a lesson that will take time, a long time to hold,

to understand I know, I remember, I'm still learning it

*

It is ok to feel things, important to feel things

your strength is in your emotion

its what can make your art powerful

*

it will be uncomfortable but

trust me it is so, so worth it

*

Be loud and boisterous and

tell anyone who says otherwise to fuck off

(but don’t say fuck yet, it’ll get you in trouble)

*

being loud is good for you, it’ll remind yourself you take up space

let yourself know you can take up more space than is allotted

*

You are strong and you are worthy of love

You are more than the sum of all the things you do for others

You can take up space and you should

*

I hope you see some of the girl you are in me

and that you can enjoy the journey here

***

Thank you for taking the time to read my poetry. If you enjoyed please consider liking, subscribing, and/or sharing to socials and with friends.

If you enjoyed this poem you may also enjoy this one.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Abby Jacobsen

An Oregon based artist, reader, and writer.

Please like, subscribe, and share! Tips are always greatly appreciated!

I can also be found on Instagram, TikTok, and Tumblr!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.