Poets logo

To Take Care of Me

by mary jones

By mary jonesPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

"No one, not even one single soul, seems to care about me or my needs," she said, as her voice begin to break

"Well," I said,

my voice commanding her eye contact

"No one is caring for you in your own fit definition of care. To care is not one distinct action; it is not fit in a box. Care is inclusion. Care is listening, even when it is not received. Care is sending someone words of kindness. Care is sharing beautiful moments of life with another. Care is endless and has many facets, many of which tend to go unnoticed."

I could see her sitting with the information she had just heard and I could not help but see the wheels turning in her head.

Maybe I changed her perspective that day

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.