Poets logo

To School You Go!

My feelings on the ignorance of many parents today.

By Gabriel MohrPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Running in the rain

To catch a bus?

No.

Not when school isn't what it should be.

Stifling your emotion

To go to church?

No.

Not when church isn't what it should be.

I'm tired of it

The constant noise telling me,

"You need to go here or there. Be ashamed of yourself for not conforming to our ways."

Why conform, when your ways lead to a place lesser than mine?

Tell me, tell me once more

What I should so

But then tell me why I should do it

Then I'll be the judge of your reasoning

The choice will be mine, not yours

For I haven't got time or patience for ignorance.

What have I done?

I ignored them.

I ignored their demands.

And for what? For me, or for liberty?

Certainly not for them, although I wonder if they secretly wish to be like me, or if they truly resent me.

Perhaps neither.

Stop!

Tell me your ways!

Tell me why you want to be the way you are!

Aren't you proud of yourself? Don't you want to explain why you do what you do?

But they do not

As if I'm supposed to magically catch on…

Sometimes I can and the consequences when I can't seem quite severe.

Fair? Not in the slightest.

But I feel as if my life is threatened when I don't accurately predict how to act with someone who is sensitive in a detrimental way.

Help? "Only at a price," they scream.

I sigh as I wish I could simply help with no strings attached.

Tell me, why live like this?

With money and fear?

Tell me, why live like this?

With a stunning lack of cheer?

It doesn't make sense and it doesn't feel right

Why not just look up at the bright starry night?

But no, to school you go, don't miss your class!

Tell me that one more time and you'll find I've got a lot of sass!

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Gabriel Mohr

Hey everyone, my name's Gabriel! I love writing short stories, spreading conscious knowledge, and positivity! Author of 3 books :)

Check out my website! www.gabrielmohr.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.