Poets logo

To Run

(Read out loud)

By DogPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
To Run
Photo by Oladimeji Ajegbile on Unsplash

I often find myself thinking lots of different thoughts

From who and what and how and pure luck that I was able to get up

You see thinking thoughts gets exhausting like too much self loathing gets me going nowhere but down

Sorry the train often stations somewhere nowhere everywhere how is it that I strut around acting foolish as if my frown could be lied to pseudo-reacting relaxation

Speaking of lying, you do it too

We parade self identification while watching shows of old men pretending to run a nation so disconnected with the world inside of a studio than a hall for trials and tribulations of a tired angsty “know everything but make ourselves happy” population taking it out on everyone else because thats easier than admitting we are terrified of being watched and watching watches counting seconds between pills and numbness and misdirection accompanied by false protection

We are too prideful to admit we want to be loved more than to love and be hugged without fear of skeletons in closets learning to live with deeds of misuse and yearning for the day of reckoning seething “justice”

No

“punishment”

The masses love blood more than they love change the opportunity to become a symbol of warmth snuffed out by fires of funeral pyres reflecting expected disgust

No, I get it,

some of us are due just as much incarceration only to walk away in a display of who really pulls the strings

And everyone wants things and stuff and old and rare and “I have more than you do” yet somehow understand your life better than what you live through day by day but only if the populace agrees on the morals for the day change quickly because they no longer come from ourselves

Its intense, the fight for first to be intertwined in hurt and preparing to fight over who is more upset with what the cameras feed the masses at mass only in front of the new see all know all gods of celebrated egotistical falsities

I didn’t mean to let it run

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Dog

I post all my poems on my instagram first @ramblings_of_dog. A read is more than I could ever ask for and I am greatful for your audience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.