Poets logo

to live

(2017)

By Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
(photo credit: Petr Kratochvil)

I don’t want to live

An incredible lie.

I want to live

To be caring of others,

To give them the joy

I could never

Give myself.

I don’t want to live

To see myself die.

I want to live

To be the person

You come to love

Lesser than a saint

Greater than anecdote

Is the type of person

I want to be.

I don’t want to live

For wasted time

That could’ve been

Fond memories,

I want to live

For fond memories

That could’ve been

Wasted time.

To know I did

Instead of I didn’t

Can let me sleep

At night knowing

I achieved life

Instead of only

Passing it by.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.