Poets logo

To everyone I have ever loved

A letter with everything I could ever say

By Amelia MichelsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Spoken word poetry short film

I count my blessings each day for our intertwined paths

Whether it was years, or for moments, as fleeting as the summer

To have existed the exact time as you, is a gift

To love,

platonically, romantically, unconditionally

Is to live

To love & to be loved

To teach & to be taught

To grow & to be the gardener

All parts to play on the life stage

I wouldn’t be who I am today

Without the part you have played

Everything I am,

Is because I have loved you

You see, somewhere along our paved paths

It was decided we’d be a true fit

Perfectly aligned to shake each other awake

To realign the ways which we perceive the world

What we believed to be true, to be false

Each & every one of you have challenged me, healed me, sculpted me like clay

I have carefully hand-picked my favourite qualities of all of you

Made them mine also, seeking to become a greater me

So, thank you for being you

I’ll tell you a secret

I believe,

We are on this earth, for none only but for each other

To hold each other’s hand while we skip through life’s grandest adventures

And to seek each other out when we feel lost & isolated

We will all be,

the main character, confidant, love interest and symbol of a life lesson

In others’ stories

I am grateful for every one

For it’s the pages in between the beginning and end, which create the protagonist’s character

When I reflect on the greatest times in my life

They’ve been spent beside all of you

My life wouldn’t have been half as bright radiant

without your presence in each chapter

So, to everyone I have ever loved

Thank you for being apart of my story

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Amelia Michels

Poetry & Prose, but definitely excerpts from my journal

Instagram @amelia.michels

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.