Poets logo

To Be Seen Is a Gift

The Heart of a Listener

By Stephanie JarrellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3

There is something so effortless about the way you seek to understand people.

The way you try to fix everyone around you while your own hands are shaking.

It's amazing how you teach others to believe in good simply by being good, even though you know what it's like to be hurt by the person that you explained your pain to.

It surprises me that you’re not more exhausted.

A constant game of hide-and-seek the way you hide everything you are feeling but take your time to find others.

Repairing things in people that you didn’t break.

How do you have time to wipe your own tears when you are the one wiping everyone else’s?

My chaos doesn’t intimidate you.

Instead, you seek to understand each scar and how it got there.

Is it somehow possible that there are more hours in your day than for everyone else?

Because time and time again, you are the only person to slow down and take the time to actually see me.

You remember chats that others forget.

You ache but you still come running to share your light when I find myself stuck in the shadows.

The way you recognize how loud my silence is.

One look and I am able to speak to you without words.

It’s like you have a transcript of my inner dialogue.

How do you mute my negative thoughts better than I can?

I wish you could see yourself how others see you.

You help others survive.

You have a way of making people crave for more than ordinary.

As much as you like to fight for other people, you also deserve to be fought for.

The listener needs a listener too.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Stephanie Jarrell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.