Poets logo

TO ALL THE WORLD RICH AND POOR..

AN OPEN LETTER..

By Victor MendezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
THE LIGHTHOUSE TREE

I watch the news daily, read the stories daily, worry about the planet daily. I listen to people deny and call this climate change a hoax. I see the plastic I toss and the mountains of trash we make from all our discarded waste and I wonder what world my children will live in when they are my age. I see the animals dying off, becoming extinct, the icebergs melting, the pollution enveloping us like a darkened fist, choking us and now I hear the water is also gonna be a problem soon…and I wonder about those rich getting richer and denying all this. I wonder more at the folks that believe them. They say it’s just another cycle. I would almost believe them but most of these folks also believe the earth is only a few thousand years old..and..THAT worries me!

But none of it matters cuz the warnings fall on deaf and dumb ears. We have an idiot for a president who call climate change a hoax(or pretty much anything he doesn't agree with a hoax!)! We watched Australia burn almost to the ground killing a billion animals and we cry over the few dozen humans that died and I wonder at the inequality of the concern. I watch California burn each year and the hurricanes come 3, 4, sometimes 5 at a time but how can it be climate change if we think this is just a cycle of things and soon or later we will go back to noemal so it's okay to continue bleeding the world of it's black blood and create more refuse and wonder why nobody does anything about it!

I watch another idiot president fromBrazil doing what's est monetarily for his country by destroying the Amazon forest and denuding the land to plant more to sell to the Chinese while the Chinese get richer and send out/export more diseases, products and pollution while doing their best to become the world powerhouse of a dead world!

I watch the icebergs falling and am amazed at how the Titanic once feared the icebergs and now maybe the new Titanics won't have to worry about any ice because everything is melting!

I hide in my little corner and worry that no matter how loud Greta Thunberg yells and screams and cries and scolds the trumps of the world will call her a kid and ignore her while the world dies because it was too late and nobody really cared anyway!

And I know I am part of the problem and wonder how I can be part of the solution! Maybe if I yell loud enough? Where did the trees go?

It weighs heavy on the heart,

Rides along, listen...

A sweet tempo of a song..

treenka, treenka, treenka...

How do you describe the twingling of guitar?

Hard to say...

But it carries an image,

Paints it on the canvas of the mind..

treenka, treenka..

Take this mental brush,

Paint the rich texture of wild foam atop seagreen waves,

treenka..

Crashes against stubborn rock.

The ocean flexes liquid muscle...

Surrounds the jut of rock, the horde of nature rages..

treenka, treenka,

Then you look at the brush,

As it draws your eyes along the spine standing straight and strong

A pinnacle of safety, of warning..

The cyclops stands against the apocalypse!

Does it invite ?

Treenka, treenka, treenka...

Or repel.?

A warning...

The last of its kind, the world rages against it blind..

Colossus of protection,

Yet we slowly help you die..

The last notes..

Treenka, treenka..

You are a beautiful sacrifice,

The last, the least, the greatest of the mighty..

'til the final limb,

the final leaf,

Final note...

Falls!

..tree..nka..

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Victor Mendez

Born in 1958.There's a lot of road beneath these feet.Worn out pairs upon pairs of shoes.Been a ranch kid,a city kid,a Marine,a dad, a grandfather now,an avid reader and just recently began writing poetry in 2015 just to vent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.