Poets logo

Title & a Dollar Sign

Making Change

By Patrick O'NeillPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Title & a Dollar Sign
Photo by Steve Knutson on Unsplash

Late nights

alone under street lights

can't cope now with these times

it feels like forever

my friends

can't seem to make ends

so what do we have to spend?

just to feel better

tell me what function I provide

in this rigid machine

just a hand back on the line

if we've got no spirit left to fight

can we defend anything?

or is that part of the design?

I know there's more to life

than a title and a dollar sign

my, my when the time is here

all that will just disappear

these thoughts got me paralyzed

and every night when I close my eyes

these pictures they get so clear

I'm calling

I'm calling for some bravery

some magic

a fix for my craving

for something to happen

I'm calling on heroes

in regular clothing

the mission is clear now

we've finished composing

we're calling for change.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Patrick O'Neill

I am a NW born & bred composer and writer currently living in Seattle, WA with my wife and two dogs. When I am giving my ears a break I enjoy writing about politics, social issues, race and everything else that keeps me up at night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.