Poets logo

Tiny Moments

Lost in Time

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I stay wrapped up in the tiny, little moments

Trying so hard to hold onto my existence as best as I can

Trying to feel secure in the insecurity

While staying sane in the vortex of insanity

Not taking chances, yet lost in the illusion of safety.

Forgoing so much vital time holding onto the pretense of patience,

Self strength and false virtue

The minutes, days, months and years pass and slide on by

Through the vast playground of earthly life

My dark blond hair has now gone grey

My green eyes and ears have weakened

My skin has become wrinkled, dry and crepe like

And I have become wizened, worn out and fragile

Yet, I still stay wrapped up in the tiny, little moments

Trying so hard to hold onto my existence as best as I can

Trying to feel secure in the insecurity

While staying sane in the vortex of insanity

Not taking chances yet lost in the illusion of safety.

Julie Longstreet Wehmeyer 2022

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.