Poets logo

Time for a nap.

A eulogy

By Shane DobbiePublished about a year ago 1 min read
6
Vimto. RIP.

I knew it was almost time to go.

My humans sensed it too.

You could tell by all the additional fussing,

the visits to the nice lady with the poking sticks,

the increase in treats.

Not wanting to cause a fuss.

I found a spot in the garden.

I curled up to await my time.

The feeding man came out to sit with me.

He lay down in the hammock,

looked over at me,

patted his lap.

Don't have to ask me twice.

I jumped up and padded his stomach.

He was smiling at me,

but his eyes were sad.

I helped as best I could,

curling up in his lap.

I wasn't there long,

The nice lady with the poking sticks arrived.

House visit.

Unusual.

I wasn’t really in the mood,

I took myself back to my resting place.

It didn’t help.

She was here to see me.

She had another poking stick.

My humans were fussing over me again.

Both of them were smiling.

Both of them were sad.

Both of them were giving me scritches.

I wish I knew what was wrong with them.

Poked again,

another sharp stick.

Feels nice though,

Making me drowsy.

I close my eyes,

all the better to enjoy the scritches.

Time for a nap.

sad poetryLove
6

About the Creator

Shane Dobbie

If writing is a performance art then I’m tap dancing in wellies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨8 months ago

    Tears before the end. I’m so sorry 😞

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Beautiful.

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    This touched my heart. Beautifully done.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I can empathize and sympathize.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my goodness. I'm in tears. This is absolutely beautiful. Sorry for your loss.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh, my heart. 💔 What an emotional poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.