Poets logo

Timber

^^^

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
16
Timber
Photo by Wren Meinberg on Unsplash

splintered

t i m b e r

carefully

c o n f i g u r e d

igniting

l i f e

in a

v a c a n t

stone ring

p u r p o s e

given

to a

desolate

t r e e

anticipation

from the

w a r m t h

it will

bring

*strike*

s p l i n t e r s

s l o w l y

ignite

cool air

w a r m e d

by a

f i r e ’ s

light

^^^^^^^^^^

blazing

f l a m e s

dance

w i l d l y

consuming

arid

l u m b e r

spilling

essence

of a

l i f e

once lived

through

s t r i a t e d

grooves of

umber

downed

t r e e

surrenders

b l i s t e r e d

memories

of what

has

b e e n

through

s m o l d e r i n g

curling

s m o k e

tossed

e f f o r t l e s s l y

by the

w i n d

billowing

through

l i n e a g e

towering

the

c e r e m o n i a l

sphere

warming

f e e d i n g

altered

l i f e

released to

a l l

who

linger near

sacred

s m o k e

rises

p e r m e a t i n g

a

v e l v e t y

starlit

s k y

hallowed

e m b e r s

slowly

e x h a l i n g

whispers

of a

final

g o o d b y e

nature poetry
16

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • ARC11 months ago

    "...purpose given to a desolate tree..." this is my favorite line from a poem made up of favorite moments. I love the way this line points out that special feeling we can earn for ourselves when we use death to bring something full-circle. Makes this human experience all the more rich. What a beautiful piece this is, Kristen. Feels like the warm amberglow of firelight on a friend's smiling face. Feels like a life, full-circle.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Kristen, this was beautiful and encapsulating. I really liked the formatting and vocabulary choices. your descriptive language was great for creating imagery in the readers mind, nicely done!

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    This was enchanting. Your descriptions were so fresh and satisfying. Love it.

  • Don't tell me you're a pyromaniac, too, Kristen? Mom always put me in charge of the fireplace when I was home. I could watch it burn for hours, from raging inferno to smoldering embers. I ended up watching "Camelot" for the first time over a Christmas break beginning at 3 a.m., all because I was still tending the fire until it burned itself out.

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    BEAUTIFUL. Honestly, I can't wait to see what you can create once we have even more formatting options available for poetry here!!

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Purpose in a woody poem! I can't recall if I've mentioned this Kristen, but I really like how you manipulate fonts to emphasize your meaning and keep your ideas flowing smoothly. It's both clever and visually arresting. This one makes me want to light up a fire in broad daylight now! 🔥🌞😂

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    I don’t know how you do it! I could feel the warmth, hear the crackling, smell the smoke. I’m gonna have to echo Em’s comment that this is tangible. It engages all the senses. And it makes me think about the life cycle of a tree, how even in death it sustains our life. I’m thinking about the element of fire, how it symbolizes the life force and passion within us. Really beautiful, sensual, meaningful poem!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Beautiful words, elegantly styled. Incredible imagery. I loved everything about this one.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Oh my! You've done it again! I'd second Em's comment, not because I'm lazy but because it's so true. I also love the "through s t r i a t e d grooves of umber" part. Striated is a very cool word to use. Impressive stuff, Kristen!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.