Poets logo

Through the Window, the Long Fall

The greater the height, the greater the fall.

By Vivian ClarkePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Through the Window, the Long Fall
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

THROUGH THE WINDOW, THE LONG FALL

You’ve given me a window into your soul

When all I have ever wanted is a door.

I keep looking in from the outside,

The opening is thin.

I can’t squeeze through--

And you say you’ve let me in.

As I squirm to get beyond

The inner darkness,

To light the candle within,

A dart of fear stabs my heart.

An icy voice whispers:

“This has happened before!

He will never open the door.

He will give you half of himself

And insist that’s all he can give

Because his heart is ruined,

While you give all and fall

From this high window;

Never to climb the

Heights of love again.”

CHINKS

I want to scratch through your barriers

And patch the soul within.

You’ve let loose a chink

And say I can get in.

I try to be patient but--

In ever growing despair

My fingers claw the concrete wall

And the bloody tips grow thin.

I’m bleeding from the outside-in

Begging and pleading

While you stare out from within.

2015

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Vivian Clarke

Third-culture-kid-now-adult with a melancholic disposition trying to make sense of life, like anyone else.

I live for my daughter, cats, and coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.