Poets logo

Thrills

a poem for those in a rollercoaster relationship

By K.C. KENNINGS Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

You made me a junkie

Addicted to a dopamine, serotonin, adrenaline, roller-coaster thrill

Your inconsistencies left me wanting more

Waiting for hours, days, weeks, months

For the feeling of reaching my hands up for even just a moment

in the bliss of the temporary highs

where you were every bit the person I knew you could be

You renewed my vision of your potential and I clung to it like a steel bar lowered tight across my chest.

But the ride was always over too quickly.

And once my feet were back on the ground I returned to the queue to wait for you to come around again.

But, now I look back at the flash photos and realize

my smile never reached my eyes.

I guess that's what happens when you're addicted to temporary highs

love poems
Like

About the Creator

K.C. KENNINGS

Write from the light

Your Life Matters

She/Her

LGBTQ+

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.