Poets logo

Thrift Shop People

As Is, No Warranties

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Thrift Shop People
Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

They say you don’t know what you have,

until you’ve thrown it all away.

When what you’ve cherished most of all, is simply, gone.

You can’t understand the value of a moment’s memory,

until every treasured thing you had, you’ve pawned.

*

Traded callously for something different, at least, for something else,

one deemed priceless, and one, just currency.

One kept protected, safely hidden, while the others tossed away,

was it intentional or your complacency?

*

The melancholy soul seeks answers, that rarely ever come,

the world spins and we’re here for the ride.

Hoping for a vision to guide us, anywhere but here,

while sarcasm saves the fragile, weary mind.

*

We sit here in our house of cards,

waiting for a better deal.

The hand to finally give us victory!

But the house, always the winner, leaves you with reality,

only seems to justify the way we feel.

*

I just want to feel something!

Can’t somebody make me better?

See inside of me and come to help me out?

The search for hope feels like an endless trip to nowhere,

I’ve tried for years, but just can’t seem to help myself.

*

I’ve gone through it all, to evaluate,

looked at the pictures and re-read all the letters.

The things I could have had, if only I could concentrate,

healing myself, instead of waiting to get better.

*

Yet, here I am, broken, all alone on this shelf,

a half priced treasure, just waiting to be seen!

Looking for those healing hands, to see the beauty here beneath

claim me, take me home and set me free!

love poems
1

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Loved your poem!

  • Luna The Artist2 years ago

    https://paidforarticles.com/what-is-pcos-595982

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.