Poets logo

Three Steps Back

“Songs of Somber”

By Q. F. Stewart Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Tough breaks are the only kind that I get

I keep looking at the horizon, the sun still hasn’t come up yet

I’m so tired of fighting this battle

tired of being herded like cattle

I try to be the kindness that I want to see in the world

My intentions are trampled on the ground, tossed up and hurled

I no longer feel excitement when something good comes along

It’s always temporary, it won’t stay for long

Something will come up, something will happen

I can’t escape this cycle that I’ve been entrapped in

Something doesn’t want me to be content

So here I am, moaning in lament

the death of me just might be the rent

I feel I’d be much happier just living in a tent

My path is always being bent

Wont ever form a straight line, for some reason it just can’t

Motivation to keep going is what I lack

I can’t continue, I’m going to crack

I’m wanting to return

to that deep-nothing black

I keep running full speed down this one way track

But every step I take is 3 steps back

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Q. F. Stewart

Writing helps me analyze myself, seeing my feelings on paper helps me understand them. I hope to reach those who relate to my writings, you’re not alone, it gets better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.