Poets logo

Three Mutual Friends

Poem.

By Nixza GonzalezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Three Mutual Friends
Photo by Lukas Medvedevas on Unsplash

Today was like any other day,

I woke up to the sky blending with the sidewalk to a hazy grey blue.

My morning walk was calm, no strangers to bother me

No dark thoughts to haunt me,

Today was just like yesterday,

Today was normal.

Yet, I heard your name.

I froze, I didn’t even hear it,

The dumb five syllable, seven letter word,

No name,

Had me frozen in place.

It was on facebook, one of our three mutual friends tagged us both in a post,

Your name was darkened,

Unclickable

Something that should be a forever barrier between our lives.

And I know for certain I blocked you months back,

And that it was possible that you’d resurface

But not in this way

Not a post set upon laughter.

Nerves got to me before I could decide to react,

And I sweated through my shirt and held on to my remorse.

So I hopped in the shower

Cleansing myself of the filth you left behind.

My hands were trembling so bad that I dropped the shampoo bottle three times and the conditioner twice.

And halfway through getting rid of the scent with my vanilla scented wash,

I could no longer tell the difference between the rush of water or my own streaming tears.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Nixza Gonzalez

My passion for writing is suddenly back and I want to share it with the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.