Poets logo

Thoughts on a Summer's Walk

Musings

By Karen L GriffinPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

As summer ripens

I ponder love:

white light, and the two souls,

their undulations spiraling the air,

giving over to silence. This they dare

without sustaining tension: their atoms speak,

the motes of dust turn, slowly.

This I would know.

As I walk, the corrupt leaves

huddle, torn, in curb and corner;

my footfalls sure, I follow

the canal, mostly dry now,

its trail of water like the remnants of faith.

Life throbs around me, much of it mindless, chaotic;

I hear the intake of my breath, jagged,

steaming back out; I know I live.

In this I place the years.

Above me, susurrations:

a tree speaks, small creatures shiver the branches.

The sun is thin, she shimmers grey,

Towards home I make my way

amidst tiny flowers.

Thoughts of hope like dandelions succor the hours.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.