Poets logo

Those big blue eyes

V - I almost lost you there

By DesobaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Those big blue eyes
Photo by Hermes Rivera on Unsplash

Its 5 am

I know what that means

when the snooze button can no longer be indulged

when my duvet can hide me no longer

I know what that means

I'm going to work

If my gait wasn't slow enough

The constant glare of drivers as they passed me by said it all.

I never know if I can make it through 12 hours

Yet as I walk out of the elevator to level 2

I tell myself otherwise

I have this! I can do this!

I skedaddle into my pod to get report

And waiting for me to feed him is the biggest bluest eyes I ever saw.

He is crying now. He wants food.

But his chart reads N.P.O

I know what that means

I'm so sorry love I say to him

no food for you today.

I try to settle him down. nothing is working

He looks at me trying to tell me something

He is grimacing now

He needs something for pain

I call the doctor, he orders morphine

I give the morphine

His crying has stopped now

Like a toss of a curtain, His big blue eyes are out of sight

All that's heard is the see-saw rhythm of his congested breath

I go in to take his temp.

He is so cold so I decide to bundle him up

When suddenly he is frozen in place

His breath sounds - gone!

His off-pink flushed colour - gone!

All I see is a boy so grey and lifeless

In a blink panic awakens

I'm afraid now

I call for help

By Natanael Melchor on Unsplash

Code blue! code blue!

We are bagging him now

we start giving him meds

Atropine - in

Fentanyl - in

Succinylcholine - in

He is getting intubated now

My mind is racing , my heart praying

please be okay! please be fine!

I am giving report now

I am checking everything

and then I see - the numbers don't add up

I gave too much morphine

oh no ! did I cause this?

Everyone is saying no

He's been going down for a bit they say

He needs surgery they say

This only contributed to it , nothing more they say

He is fine now.

But I am not

because all I can think about

is the fear I felt

of never seeing those big blue eyes again.

- desoba__

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Desoba

Every story is worth telling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.