Poets logo

This Way to Woodstock

A poem

By CJ MillerPublished about a year ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
3

Inscrutable gaze of a coin-faced Moon

The sonorous cry of a lark felled in June

I spilled forth from my window like ribbons of paint

My blood running ragged, no hint of restraint

•♾•

Comporting myself as a helix of cells

I flew towards the clang of insidious bells

Beneath skies so deprived of their prodigal Sun

Stood a beast made of meat I had long come to shun

•♾•

Its texture was that of a coarsely purled knit

Gnashing teeth may describe it as 25-grit

Draping ears kissed the pavement; a nose grazed my own

Though the skull remained orbless, its vacancies shone

•♾•

I scaled graying flanks and gathered the reins

Said monster of sinew, my guide 'cross the Plains

On Highway 13, we encountered a sign

Woodstock

10 Miles

A faint yellow line

•♾•

Our path, wholly blocked by a cadre, a fright

Their flesh, that of paper; their grins, born of spite

May we pass? I implored, every nerve red and raw

You shan't hissed their leader, still whetting its maw

•♾•

This army of corpses, I've since come to see

Had eyes carved from jade

They were copies—

All me

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

CJ Miller

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Savannah Svetaabout a year ago

    Wow - I love your choice of words and imagery throughout this. Such surprising but always so fitting choices. It's one that makes you think for sure! Lovely piece, thank you for sharing!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.