Poets logo

this is what it feels like

to bury so many of you

By g.m.t Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

another long night

my efforts to bury the memory of you

coming home the next morning

bare feet on the pavement, the grass and dew

open the gate, fix my hair

step on a rock or two

walk up my stairs

it’s empty, no one will have a clue

what i’ve done

to try to bury the memory of you

enter my room

finally release

take off the costume i wore

it’s like routine, i aim to please

pick out something pure, an untouched canvas

what i wish i could be

spill my black paint

a drop lands at my feet

turn the music up and ignore all my calls

“your body is your home”

well, i am as empty as these halls

you say it shouldn’t be a norm

to want a drink at 10:30

but my nights never end

they bleed into mornings

and when i decide to try for sleep

the thoughts begin to creep

anxiously from background

no music will smother that sound

as if they’ve waited patiently for me

for when my defenses are down

this is what it feels like

but you have no clue

how hard i try to drown

all these memories of you

-g.m.t.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

g.m.t

bare bones,

here are rests the things ive wrote,

to purge, to mend whats broke.

read, or dont. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.