Poets logo

This is Home To Me

A free verse poem

By Harmony KentPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2021
33

A first step into an empty house

A blank canvas

On which to paint

The rest of my life

*

This is home to me.

The first time we met

You opened my gates

Along with my heart

And strolled right on in

*

This is home to me.

We’ve had our fair share

Of fights and passions

Of rubbing each other’s

Rough edges smooth

*

This is home to me.

Your glasses case left

On the kitchen island

Along with a trail of crumbs

Splashes of coffee from filling your flask

*

This is home to me.

The sweet smell

Of your freshly-laundered t-shirt

And the warmth of your embrace

As my tears soak the fabric

*

This is home to me.

The terrible pang of loss

And joy of birth

The snuggles on the sofa

That see us through it all

*

This is home to me.

The uncomplaining way you soothe

The hurts of my amputated leg

In the middle of the night

When the phantoms attack

*

This is home to me.

The peaty tang of a single malt

While we sit side by side

Noses each buried in a book

And relax into silence—companionship

*

This is home to me

The way we each

Try and guess the plot

Of the many movies

We love to watch

*

This is home to me.

Your risqué humour

And gentle smile

The laughter lines on your face

All of you makes my heart race

*

This is home to me.

That certain look in your eyes

The firm cadence of your voice

And the love you show

In so many wonderful ways

*

This is home to me.

Palace or mansion

An uncarpeted council flat

A hovel or a shack

I don’t care for any of that

*

This is home to me.

Always and everywhere

With you at my side

Growing old together

Sharing laughs and memory gaps

*

This is home to me.

love poems
33

About the Creator

Harmony Kent

The multi-genre author who gets write into your head

I began writing at 40 after a life-changing injury. An avid reader & writer, I love to review & support my fellow authors.

Find Me:

Blog

Story Empire

Amazon Author Page

Twitter

Goodreads

Bookbub

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jan Sikes2 years ago

    A beautiful poem, Harmony!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.