Poets logo

This Is Falling

It is so much more than skin deep

By Alice B. Schellinger. Published 2 years ago 2 min read
1
This Is Falling
Photo by Valerie Blanchett on Unsplash

It isn’t merely a glance over the rim of your whiskey glass

or the smile that seems like a charm you’ve used on many others before me.

It isn’t the way you walk, talk,

or hold your cup of coffee.

It’s more than just the way you look when you’re standing before me as I slowly undress you and move to explore your body with my

hands,

lips,

tongue,

gliding and roaming and moving over all of those little spots that you love to have touched and kissed.

It’s more than the heavy breathing and fogged mirrors,

the traces of our hungry love-making,

the clothes forming a trail from the den to the bedroom.

It’s the gentle kiss upon my forehead as your arm encircles my waist,

holding me closer to you as I nuzzle into your chest.

It’s the soft laughter that escapes from my lips when you wiggle your eyebrows.

It’s the way you pay attention to my different moods when I’m unaware of my changes,

and the way I don’t mind the cold when I know you’re lying next to me.

It's hearing you in my favorite songs,

even the orchestral and instrumental ones,

with swells of violins,

cellos,

pianos,

and acoustic guitars.

It's akin to the feeling of running through a field of flowers,

or a bank of snow,

or a rainy city with you playfully chasing me

and pulling me to you for one of those kisses that I thought only existed for the women in my favorite romantic comedies.

It's knowing that the reason you're not "Prince Charming"

is because you're already a king.

It's the way that being around you comes with a sense of comfort,

even when there is excitement in the air

from our sexual tension and chemistry.

This. . .

This is falling.

In Love.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Alice B. Schellinger.

Hostess of the SchellingtonGrin Podcast. Writer of poems, short stories, articles, and reviews. Support the SchellingtonGrin Podcast on Spotify and connect with me here and on other socials to be part of the Community

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.