Poets logo

Third Wheel

Off the Wagon

By nathaneyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

For the first time a couple kissing made me happy,

I didn't think they were throwing their love at me.

I've always been bitter, cynical, aloof,

Lately been feeling suspect of my truth.

I really don't need all that much,

I could live off solely your touch.

I don't need any more from you,

Think you know me but you're confused,

Just need your warmth, breath & hands,

I really don't need you to be my man.

Just want to feel alive for an hour or so,

When I've had enough it's your time to go.

Maybe there's something more to be felt

But I'm happier on my own, by myself.

I don't mistreat me, but pain seldom leaves me.

I'll be ok, won't let the world see me,

When I die no one will have known me,

It’s how you’re meant to perceive me.

My story I'll take with me to the grave,

Your grief and pity from which I'll be safe.

I'll have lived my life in a bubble

Consumed by my many troubles.

But the one thing that will console me

Is that I left being the one and only

To know the veracity of feeling this lonely.

Trauma can be intimately isolating,

Tired of feeling like I'm trying but failing

To show myself in the most honest light,

Even I’m annoyed by my many plights.

I can't expect you to understand,

My mind and body is a wasteland.

When I’m intoxicated I feel okay,

I'll live to see a few more yesterdays.

You'll all remember me as a mess,

Tombstone reading: Trying My Best

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

nathaney

I'm an optimistic nihilist comforted by collectivism, in a world worshipping rugged individualism.

I have no idea what I'm doing here,

or in general.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.