Poets logo

Thinking in the dark room

Sadness...

By Shahid AliPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Thinking in the dark room
Photo by Luis Galvez on Unsplash

I was thinking in a dark room

The room was dark

And my thoughts were dark too

The light was off in the hall

The light was off in my brain too

I was thinking long and hard

Thinking in that dark

Dark room

Plenty of worry

Plenty of strife

Long and traumatic

Deep and relentless

I was still in that dark unlit room.

No one came to see me

I was all alone

In my world and

Needing my space

I had only my thoughts for company

I strove hard on my own

I wanted to be free

But I had to slave to win the day

Plenty of worry

Plenty of strife

Long and traumatic

Deep and relentless

I was still in that dark unlit room.

I was frenzied yet dispassionate

Tortured yet calm

I was needing friends yet alone

I was drunk with sorrow

The world was buffeting me

And I was too distraught to resist

I was needing comfort

But all I got was pain

Needing a shoulder

But getting only a rocky pillow

Plenty of worry

Plenty of strife

Long and traumatic

Deep and relentless

I was still in that dark unlit room.

Visions of today melting into the next

In that unlit room

Reveries from yesterday mingling with the distant past

There was no hope for remedy, no hope

For extrication from

Pain

Worry

Disturbance of the soul

Or maybe I was paying

For my sins

The wrongs of my youth

Maybe I was paying for the evils

I had committed as a kid

I was derailing

My spirit needed rest

But I needed to work

And could afford it no respite

One needs another working for him to rest

But I was all alone

I was by myself.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Shahid Ali

a humble poet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.