Poets logo

Things That Could Have Been.

What if things had been different?

By Tommy BallardPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Fall Out of Heaven - An Original Glitch Art Piece of Mine

I could have been good,

Had I not suffered childhood.

I could have been contented,

Had I not been surrounded by the wretched.

I could have felt something other than pain,

Had I not been tormented and driven insane.

There are so many things that could have been.

We could have had a family,

Had you not tried to destroy me.

We could have had a future,

Had you not sliced open my heart and left it bleeding without a suture.

We could have had everything,

Had you not made me a second-string.

There are so many things that could have been.

I could gaze into the mirror,

Had it not meant locking eyes with a stranger.

I could still feel eager,

Had it not seemed that every grass was greener.

I could fly without dramamine,

Had it not kept the world evergreen.

There are so many things that could have been.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tommy Ballard

I'm a professional writer, a poet, a digital artist and an amateur musician. In my free time, I can often be found pondering magnets, breaking and entering random homes to steal locks of human hair and throwing car batteries into the ocean.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.