Poets logo

These Words Are For Us

A collection of notes on love, life, and more

By Crystal CPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

The winter waves may numb my skin and freeze my bones,

but with you, I am warm.

-

The sickest beats

at the coolest clubs

can't compare

to the beat of your heart.

-

Because you make me want to go out, do some good, and be kind.

Just so I'd feel like I deserve this happiness more.

-

You are magic,

and I, your audience,

in eternal awe of your ways.

-

Perhaps this is it.

Perhaps this is goodbye.

Or perhaps this is just a “see you later”,

a brief break as we go our separate ways

discovering ourselves.

And once we have,

perhaps in nine years or so,

when we’re both lost in some unfamiliar city

with an outdated map and a cold coffee in hand,

we’d find each other once more.

Perhaps.

-

Winter used to be my favourite season. At least, that’s what I would say whenever asked. It’s the most magical, with the soft fall of white snow, the bright colours of Christmas lights, and the cheer of children and adults alike making rounds on outdoor ice rinks. It’s the most romantic, with our fingers intertwined, finding warmth in your coat pocket, as the cold wind sweeps by our already-red noses. It’s the most delicious, as I let myself believe a cup of hot chocolate a day is acceptable. It’s the most badass in fashion, as the only time I get to bring out my leather jacket, black coat, and knee-high boots. All of these have now gathered dust in the infinite summer of KL. Yet, I am okay. I have grown to love summer. Not sure when on, but I have. Perhaps I’ve changed into a ‘summer’ kind of gal. Perhaps summer is now my favourite season, bringing with it skin kissed by the sun, hair styled by the sea breeze, and body nourished by green smoothies and fresh farm produce. I love the baggy tees and short shorts look, as I go from bike ride to short hike, having wild adventures in the warmth of the sun. Then at night, under the wonder of the starry skies.

-

If you don’t know where you want to go,

let the river’s flow take you.

But, if you are fortunate enough to know exactly where you want to go,

you fucking swim there.

Even if it’s against the currents.

-

My desires are a constant oscillation between

adventure and stability,

independence and security,

solitude and intimacy.

-

Thank you to the friends

who, instead of eggshells,

give me soft carpets of

warmth and acceptance

to walk on.

-

I'm in a good place now.

But good places don't often make good stories.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Crystal C

Here to be real - unpopular opinions, lame sense of humour, and occasional feels included.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.