Poets logo

There's No Place Like Home

A poem inspired by The Wizard of Oz and a lesson learned from life.

By J. R. LowePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
There's No Place Like Home
Photo by Hulki Okan Tabak on Unsplash

I’ve spent my whole life on the yellow brick road,

Searching for riches beyond comprehension,

But since then I’ve found

All I want is abode,

Rather than money or gold compensation

.

Early in life when my story began,

I was ungrateful for things dear to me,

And as a result, I often conspired

To leave home with my plan,

For prosperity.

.

It’s a terrible thing, to not have a heart,

To lose what’s required,

To live life with love,

And to feel so apart,

From the things I desired.

.

It was tough, I would say,

To not have a brain,

To be taken for granted,

In every way,

And never be heard as I say things in vain.

.

It’s a hard enough life

Not having courage.

I'd hear someone’s roar,

And cower from strife,

Or yield to the hardships that others disparage.

.

So I battled my witches,

From the East and the West,

And followed the road to the Emerald City

In search of the riches,

Which I hoped would cure the things I detest.

.

But when I acquired my brain, courage and heart,

I found that fame and wealth were rotten

And were not what I craved,

Instead, it was what I’d left at the start;

A family, a home, which I had since forgotten.

.

So I made peace with the Good Witch

Who had me returned,

To the place where I’m from,

With my life now enriched,

From the lesson I’d learned.

.

That lesson is clear throughout my life’s tome,

As even when life appears monochrome,

There’s no place like home.

There’s no place like home.

There’s no place like home.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

J. R. Lowe

By day, I'm a PhD student, by night.... I'm still a PhD student, but sometimes I procrastinate by writing on Vocal. Based in Australia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.