Poets logo

There is a New Sheriff in Town

This poem is about regaining control over the mind to avoid depression and other mental health issues.

By Lewis KimPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Image by Mircea - All in collections from Pixabay

Once my ally, now my foe, you seized my mind with a tyrant's hand

A new sheriff in town, enforcing rules I cannot stand

We were meant to work together, to navigate life's sea

But you've become the captain, dictating every move to me

Your fire burns within me, consuming all I hold dear

And when I try to fight it, you only grow more severe

You haunt me with your presence, lurking in the dark

A daily misery, a constant, overwhelming mark

But I refuse to let you win, to let you be my master

I'll no longer be a fool, and let you cause disaster

I am the one in control now, the master of my fate

And you, my dear depression, will no longer dictate

You thrive on attention, but I won't give you mine

I'll sit on the sidelines, and let you wither on the vine

You'll try to lure me in, with your evil persuasion

But I won't fall for it, I'll resist your foul invasion

The jokes on you, my friend, for I'm getting stronger every day

I won't let you reign supreme, I won't let you have your way

So go ahead and try your best, I'll watch you from afar

But know that I am the new sheriff in town, and you won't get far.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Lewis Kim

Hello friend,

This is Lewis.

I like writing because it is one of the few ways I get to express my thoughts for the world to see. I write a lot on many topics. Today, I might write a poem, and tomorrow, a blog article on sustainability.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.