Poets logo

There Could Be a Force for Good

A poem about the use of force

By Samantha MarinPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
There Could Be a Force for Good
Photo by R.D. Smith on Unsplash

Force is an abomination,

A scramble for control.

Force is bravado, a cop-out

For the constable on patrol.

We’re worthy of conversation.

Talk to us through the bars.

With the goal of domination,

The powerful only break hearts.

Force is a failsafe, a last resort.

It’s a conversation killer,

A hope-destroyer from the sort of

Man who can’t look in the mirror.

Respect, please—unconditional.

Watch anger fade away.

See? I am not a criminal.

I want to see another day.

Yes, talk to me through the metal bars.

I am not a monster.

Talk to me in my front yard.

Take pride in the peace we foster.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Marin

I’m lucky to have an opportunity to share my writing here and enjoy reading others’ work. I’m into outdoor sports, first responders, and mental health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.