Poets logo

The "Zero, Zero" Hero

I like to believe. 🧚‍♀️✨

By Gina C.Published about a year ago 2 min read
9
Image created with DALL-E-2

I like to believe

I somehow make

{a difference},

and all my wishes as

a little girl

weren't robbed by thieves (within)

this world.

But all the dreams that I've

achieved (are)

somehow locked in boxes;

and all my words,

(like wingless birds,)

are still unopened

and

unfurled.

*

Stuck on zero, zero

I believe that I am somehow

still

a hero;

even if my stories go unread -

and all my thoughts

and lovely, twisted plots

appear so

[[infrared]] amid the

shining stars of >>Vocal<< threads.

*

I imagine I

am worthy...

of being loved and showcased on

a page;

but instead, I am

unseen and hurting

in the background,

--I am fading--

behind curtains,

locked like all their [[afterthoughts]],

backstage.

*

Stuck on zero, zero

I believe that I am somehow

still

a hero;

even if my stats don't earn

a dime;

like a superhero, I'm

invincible

but only for the fact that I'm

not {{visible}} enough

to shine.

*

I have dreamt that I

am soaring

(just like)

superheroes do

throughout the sky...

but when I wake up,

[[all]]

the light from me

is [[ultraviolet]], pouring

shortened wavelengths

never great enough

to

catch the starlight (in their)

eyes.

*

Stuck on zero, zero

I believe that I am somehow

still

a hero;

even if my stories

never make it

to the top;

I like to believe

(I'm still)

{{a wonder}}

even if

I'm just an underdog

(lost amid)

their shadows and

the rolling pockets of

[[the fog]].

*

I envision I am

(something of)

an inspiration

and that all my

{{dedication}}

to uplifting hearts

(is for)

the good...

but then I see

the poetry

of everyone, expressing

[[woe is me]]

(just like I'm doing here, ironically)

and my words don't seem to

grow to be

the revelations that

(I think)

I thought

they would.

*

Stuck on zero, zero

I believe that I am somehow

still

a hero;

even if my entries never win;

I believe that I am somehow

still

a hero;

despite the glory

that may always be

a self-consolatory daydream deep within;

I am the author of my life story;

I am a heroine.

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

***

Dedicated to anyone who feels like their work is invisible. I see you! ❤️ Drop me anything you'd like to be read and seen in the comments. :)

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️ I'm working really hard to grow my community on Vocal and I'd be over the moon if we could be friends and support each other here!

I reciprocate all reads, comments, hearts, and subscriptions. :) ❤️

inspirational
9

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    It's fascinating to see you being an active member of Vocal now and know you struggled in the beginning just as I am!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh, this was very relatable. I struggled for over a year before I started feeling seen. It felt like no one gave a crap at all. I hope you feel differently now as you are definitely an amazing writer!!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • This comment has been deleted

  • JoAnn Ryanabout a year ago

    Well done. You are definitely worthy of being read.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Job well done and I agree - you are a hero!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This is great! Keep writing - you are more visible than you thing - and you always are the hero of your own story!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    So well said. Yes, you are a hero.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.