Poets logo

The Year of Struggle

A poem dedicated to the struggles of the pandemic

By GeneePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Year of Struggle
Photo by Shalom de León on Unsplash

The Year of Struggle

They run prospects

They run deals

They run numbers into steel

Why.. it isn’t fair

I don’t know if it’s possible

To not make it to personal

back brace can’t support your feeling.

Why.. it isn’t fair

And then I hear the hopeful man

He screams out

We live to breathe we live to see

We are what makes us anything

We cant' go wrong when we do right

Everything ain’t black and white

Early morning trades jave risen

Yet so has my spirit

Oh cerebellum can you move a better a man?

Amygdala is that you I can’t recall

We work so hard till our last part falls

Hold it together and don’t let go dont let shit hit the fan

My feet ache my knees buckle

And I can’t afford to crack a smile

Unless it is to make my check file

I don’t know what it is to not feel sad

And then I hear the hopeful man

He screams out

We live to breathe we live to see

We are what makes us anything

We can't go wrong when we do right

Everything ain’t black and white

Trade may be risin

But finally, so is my spirit

I faintly hear him as i grow in angst

How is there hope left if not forced by saints

I hear I’m tested, yet i am weakened

Pressure busting levies or grand gems peaking

Oh hopeful man lend me your courage

lend me your faith and fight

perseverence budding strength flourish

I am am the hopful women with might

This poem was written and dedicated to the struggle many individuals faced during this pandemic. This was especially made for the essential workers and workers laid of struggling to pay rent, going through hardship of mandatory overtimes and even having to deal wih finding jobs with low pay or minimum wage with long extensive work hours allwhile trying to avoid getting/catching the Corona Virus. This is for you I understand your pain nd struggle . May you have faith and hold on. I wrote to let others know theyre nt alone.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Genee

Hey, what's up my name is MGJ Ivy, I also go by Genee, I am a beginning writer and artist. My milestones with vocal are to write short stories, fictional stories, poem practices, and even write biographies and articles. Enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.