Poets logo

The Writer’s Pondering

A poem about musing by ED 5/12/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Writer’s Pondering
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I wonder if you’ll love me

When I stop wondering and speak

Will these panicked feelings leak and creep

Down from my brain and down the back of my throat

That’s why I choke

Every time I read what I wrote

Learning by rote

Memorize the notes

To mesmerize the folks

Who called me kin

Then again

Who kicked me out

Pulled me in again

When my greatest sin

Was moving on for life to begin

They drowned my voice

And stabbed your soul

How did your admiration continue

To grow?

For a woman not grown

And hardly known

Your seeds so sweet

Carefully sown

Where the breath of dragons blown

Over the castles and high rises

Scorch the refrain that comprises

My soul’s domain and home

What a surprise is the prize

You have awarded me

A ring and promises

Of loyalty royally known

Where the springtime light

Has shone through the night

And now your heart is my own.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.