Poets logo

The Words of a Week

small and meek

By Greyley SabinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Words of a Week
Photo by Mukul Wadhwa on Unsplash

My ears are always plugged

Cold air, sharp, empty laugh

Is everyone so much better than me?

There’s cat hair in my socks

I hold her cold hands with my warm ones

Too many steps in between

Band-Aids, Apologies, Apathy

When they’re too sticky they make new wounds

Building blocks, ups and downs

We can’t always wish we were somewhere else

Curves, comfort, too much yarn

The big secrets are all happy now

Our reality has an extra layer

She says she loves the light

Cold coffee, not bitter enough

Suspense and new book smell, metal and glitter

I’m still bad at sewing

We hope for nothing

Medium fingernails, sore hands, mutual understanding

My toast is buttered, yours is dry

I want to help you but I’ll faint, I never used to

I ripped my t-shirt- they call this life

Opening up, harsh memories, stocking feet

Cowardice and nausea

Tired eyes, dry throat

Comfort me, partnered loneliness

Our queer realities, mending

I may have nothing left to give

Good aching, strong and divine

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Greyley Sabin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.