Poets logo

The Wild Wood

A poem of love

By Caelen TricePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wrote her name upon the tree

Sun low and setting

I kept forgetting

The world that went on without me

The night was cool and songs were sung

Owls took to fight

Mice ran to and fro in fright

And yet I cannot remember where I had begun

I called her name into the wild wood

A lilting tone to my voice

I’d naught to regret in my choice

Rooted as I was to where I stood

I belong to the wild wood

I belong to her

I belong to the trees

And the world in which she rules

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Caelen Trice

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.