Poets logo

The Wiggle Jig

... dance of my people ...

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
11
The Wiggle Jig
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

This is a Prompt Challenge from the facebook group, Vocal + Assist.

The Wiggle Jig

… dance of my people …

I found the clothes I want to wear

going out with the spouse

to my favorite restaurant.

I begin to salivate, thinking

***

the Artichoke dip

the beer-cheese soup

the cedar plank salmon

the nice glass of Pinot

***

I wiggle and I jiggle

to fit into my jeans.

While I do my dance, I realize,

it must be time to buy new pants.

***

Maybe the kind with elastic.

Thank you for reading! Oh, the dilemmas of age …

love poemssocial commentary
11

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • This comment has been deleted

  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    That was great fun and totally appropriate for this time of year, or any time really

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Hehehe this was hilarious and well done!!

  • Julia Schulzabout a year ago

    Funny!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    So great and a little too relatable!! Nice work :)

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Love this! Made me hungry and also very relatable. I need new pants this year for the same reason 😅

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Can relate to the dance 😊

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    lol...we all know that dance

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic!!! Very relatable!!!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    lol. This is great.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I love it... The dance... Been there done that...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.