Poets logo

The Wife Of Loki.

This is a poem inspired by Sigyn the wife of Loki, this came about purely because theres been a few people claiming that Sigyn was Loki's second wife yet ignore the fact it was Sigyn and her twin sons that were Loki's weak spot and it was Sigyn that suffer on collecting the venom of the snake in her attempt to protect Loki from pain.

By Alixzandra WisemanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Wife Of Loki.
Photo by ella peebles on Unsplash

They scorn me, yet those so called scholars do not know me , nor do they truly remember the tales of me and my place at Loki's side. They bitterly and foolishly title me the second wife , yet I was Loki's only wife .

If I was his so called second wife , then pry tell why should I have stayed within that cave which was once Loki's prison, why should I have spent those cruel years with aching limbs gathering the snake venom to protect my love from pain.

Yet still those uneducated fools jump up and down in the scholarly cloaks and hats, intent on calling me Loki's second wife , I was his first and only wife, for the mother of Fenrir, Jomungandr and Hel was a mistress that Loki met while once away traveling. But I Sigyn was his only wife.

My twin sons, Narfi and Vali were gutted before me, we have been used as bait to bring Loki out of hiding for what he had done to the sun god Baldr. Our sweet twin boys had their intestines pull from their youthful forms, charms of bitter rage magic turned them into the chains which bound Loki to that a cursed rock deep within the cave.

Yet where was that so called first wife, Angrboda? She was no where to be seen for she was not important enough to Loki, it was Sigyn that had been used to capture him, for Sigyn was his wife he held most dearly to his heart.

Sigyn who was forced to watch her sons murder and force to watch the imprisonment of her husbands. Yet you scholars title her his second wife and yet it was her that was Odin knew would bring Loki from his hiding place.

In truth Sigyn was no goddess of the aesir, she was no giant like Angrboda, Sigyn was Loki's wife his only wife, the mortal women that captures the tricksters heart. She knew of his affairs, yet still she knew his heart belonged to her. and her alone.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.