Poets logo

The Way You Talk When You Don't Say

A thing

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I listen to your voice; it flows,

it bends around the curves,

thoughts come and fly,

belong in whispers,

the times when your eyes speak

make me believe

there's hope

to feel, sing,

and to find

under the veil of twilight,

behind mountains of doubt,

talking to you doesn't have to bring sound,

in love

I have the way,

in happy wishes,

I find grace.

***

Somewhere inside this rainbow

or the next,

your voice reminds me

of the times,

when I felt I was not enough,

when I thought I should stop, give up,

each time you lifted me,

I found myself,

I saw a second chance,

if that was one ending,

there was also beginning

gliding on your words.

***

A voice I've known all this time,

walking by my side

or unseen,

I've felt you long before

I knew your face.

***

Caressing sounds are home

to me, you can't grow old,

or different,

what I saw that first day,

stays in a mirror

it belongs

in feeling,

in hail,

or on sunny afternoons,

spirit plays in our garden,

no shade comes close

when I have you

to have

and hold,

now, the next second,

tomorrow always comes

at the right time.

***

Flying with you

is going home,

if I float or stand still,

there is no other place,

I long to be,

in heart,

wand of another's fate

mine to believe,

mine to unfold,

one way, ours,

the path we make

is filled with love

of new horizons.

***

No other heart can reach,

no song rings louder in the dark

than your words,

those I love,

when you don't say

a thing.

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

Photo credit: Pexels

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.