Poets logo

The Way it Goes

A Poem

By Elise Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Way it Goes
Photo by Paul Gilmore on Unsplash

Photo by Paul Gilmore on UnsplashThe Way it Goes

A Poem

With you, I saw beauty in life,

and the darkness which once surrounded me shifted.

And finally, I could see the beauty in the world.

But you held onto my darkness and held it close to your heart.

I knew this was coming,

it's happened before

but that's just the way it goes with us, 

unfortunately.

Yet mistakes of the past never turned into lessons,

and so I stayed, trying my hardest to love you,

praying my love would bring comfort

and hoping that eventually, you'd see the beauty that I saw.

But you clawed and screamed

until I let go

and so I did

because that's just the way it goes.

We drifted apart,

and my darkness vanished from you.

Yet I know a part of you still calls for me,

now I know to ignore it,

it's a lesson I learned.

And so I allow myself to move on,

finally understanding that my love

will never be enough, not for you.

Yet I would have spent many lifetimes

trying to fix what was broken between us.

But my love is meant for another,

and that's just the way it goes.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.