Poets logo

The Voice Within

A Suffocation of My Mind

By Valerie PurrettaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
The Voice Within
Photo by Mahdi Bafande on Unsplash

I hate sitting in public.

My thoughts run wild;

people around me,

unaware of my mind.

Hot air surrounds me,

engulfing my lungs.

Please,

help me.

I can't breathe.

That voice within,

it laughs at me.

"You are so weak."

Help.

"They're all judging you."

Please.

"Imagine being this pathetic."

Let me go.

I watch, helplessly,

as those around me socialize.

They are living.

They Can live.

I can't.

Not with this voice.

It strangles me.

A stranger approaches me.

"They think you're weak."

I slap on a smile--

brighten my eyes.

I've learned the tricks.

They make up some small talk,

and I fail to entertain.

"How embarrassing,

you can't even talk to them."

Make up an excuse.

I need them to leave.

I need quiet.

Make the voice go away.

Please,

I can't live like this.

Not anymore.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Valerie Purretta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.