Poets logo

The Vigil

One final kiss

By Joe YoungPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Time to depart (my own photo)

Almost twenty years ago

My lonely heart was captured

Yours, right from that first hello

And each day since, enraptured

You broke the laws of what is true

For beauty fades as we get older

But age could never lessen you

In the eyes of this beholder

There is no smile here on display

Nor can I see your hazel eyes

Which, I often used to say

Were the jewels within my prize

But I must leave, it’s getting light

Outside, a new dawn chorus

I must ensure that all is right

For the gruelling day before us

I kiss your lips and softly say

‘Goodbye, my love, God bless’

In tears I turn and walk away

From the cold chapel of rest

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Joe Young

Blogger and freelance writer from the north-east coast of England

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.