Poets logo

The Vampire and the Moon

A toxic relationship

By Chloë J.Published 11 months ago 1 min read
3
The Vampire and the Moon
Photo by Leonardo Yip on Unsplash

I.

Reaching, stretching, seeking with my cracked and bleeding fingers,

Striving, still, to catch a moon-web while her presence lingers.

I can see it, as I am, cast down from betwixt the stars.

A salve, a balm, my healing-I would save it in a jar.

I beg you, Cold One, stay-

Hide me in your velvet cloak,

I’ll wrap your shadows ‘round me;

A mantle, not a yoke.

II.

Steadfast, hold your hard-won ground; cede not to the break of day.

Staunchly wield your sword of ice, hold the cruel burning at bay.

Let your beams defeat his rays, let pale subtlety prevail.

If not, then cast your life boat down, so with you, I might sail.

Did your mouth speak my curse?

Is it yours, the lonely eye?

The only one that sees me,

Far-cast into the sky?

III.

I loathe you and your silence. I adore you and your light.

Bathe me in muted silver while I spurn and seek the night.

I vow this time I’ll acquiesce to fiery, dawn-brought death.

As you fade from sight I will take my final, gasping breath.

Stay, lover, as you must,

Keep me tight within your hand.

If I can’t have your frost-kiss

I’ll stay not in this land.

fact or fictionlove poems
3

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joelle E🌙11 months ago

    Love!! Like modern-day Edgar Allan Poe! 🌙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.