Poets logo

The Unknown

A Poem

By Elise Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Unknown
Photo by Nick Owuor (astro.nic.visuals) on Unsplash

Many lifetimes ago

your heart ran dry of love,

your touch turned cold,

and you looked at me

as though I burdened your soul.

And so, I escaped into the unknown 

to heal what was broken and wounded.

Never did you search for me.

Not once had you wished upon

a star for me to come back.

You were okay with the unknown.

Now here I am,

tangled between the planets

in an overwhelming space of silence

as my mind fills with dreams of you and me.

The stars capture the whispers of my heart

before they can ever reach you.

You'll never know.

However, it does not matter,

for you have forgotten me,

and so, any unwanted memories

that find their way to you

would do nothing to trigger your heart.

But I cannot forget you,

the memory of our love

stays with me, 

in my mind and heart.

The pain our loved caused

leaks into the cracks of my soul

and burns through me.

As I untangle myself 

from all that kept me stuck

I float off in the sea of asteroids,

they take me deeper into the unknown.

I dream of our souls colliding one day.

I want to find my way back to you,

but as I go further along my journey

I begin to look forward to the unknown.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.