Poets logo

The Unforgotten Toxicity

Escaping the Pain

By Leona ValentinePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Why are you watching me?

When will you leave?

Why are you still here?

What do you need?

I am here now.

You no longer exist.

Stop creeping behind me.

You will never be miss.

You have to move on.

I need you out of my mind.

I need to live on,

And you need to stay behind.

I know it is my fault.

I am the reason why you came.

I still have to move on.

Things are never the same.

The nightmares will not end.

You are always in my head.

I wish the pain would stop.

Sometimes I wish I were dead.

If only things were better,

I would not feel this way.

I see that you are cruel,

These cries I must convey.

I cannot stop crying.

It is hard to remove the pain.

You are always near me.

It is driving me insane.

It is difficult to remember

The good things that passed.

Maybe about two or three,

But our union never lasted.

How could you be this way?

Why are you like this?

What was I thinking?

Never again will I risk.

I can never understand.

You are confusing to me.

This is why I want to forget you.

You must go away quickly.

There is no room for you here.

It is just only me.

You have to be forgotten.

You have to let me free.

You caused me only misery.

It makes me want to die.

It hurts so much.

I should not be alive.

You are too close to me.

I see you with fear.

The more you stay with me.

The more I shed my tears.

I lost everything.

I even lost myself.

Every time you hurt me,

I fall deeper to hell.

Please forget everything.

Go away for our sake.

You are now dead to me.

It is time for me to awake.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.