Poets logo

The Unexpected Wings

What is he going to do with these?

By Anthi PsomiadouPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Hasan Almasi on Unsplash

He always wished he was a bird

to leave the life he couldn’t bear;

this thought kept his melancholy alive,

and also, the excuse for not flying.

What a safe wish this was really;

I didn’t move on because I lack wings!

As if the ground had no roads

through which he could have gone.

He chose something impossible

as a prerequisite for chasing his dream;

wings would never germinate on a human,

so, he stayed there, in convenience-land.

One day, on his 67th birthday,

nature got bored of being blamed;

she planted wings on his ribs

to see what he would do with these.

His shock from this overturning

made him see the truth of his trick.

‘Cause as soon as he felt them on his back,

he said: “Oh, I am old for flying!”.

Nature looked at him in a neuter way,

just waiting for him to face

the illusion he believed for years,

and be aware of his fears.

So, now that I am able to fly,

I still find reasons not to rise.

I was afraid of leaving my comfort zone,

scared of discovering the unknown.

Nature smiled and left him in the arms

of Awareness that had just arrived.

The ball was in his court now;

he would choose the next step’s how.

***

Anthi Psomiadou — CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 International : Credit must be given to the creator/ Only noncommercial uses of the work are permitted/ No derivatives

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anthi Psomiadou

Writing, Life coaching, Criminology, and more. But I simply do these, I am not these. I just am. I am what I am, at any given moment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.