Poets logo

The Ultimate Sacrifice

Part and parcel of being a Mother

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 2 min read
10
The Ultimate Sacrifice
Photo by Manuel Schinner on Unsplash

I’ve watched in total awe

As a man sacrifices for his girl,

Putting her needs before his very own

As her wishes and wants unfurl.

***

I’ve been totally amazed

As a woman put her man’s needs first,

No sacrifice too big or small

She doesn’t need to be coerced.

***

I’ve also experienced the pure joy

When a partner has shown his heart,

Putting my dreams before his own

A treasure, a true sweetheart.

***

I’ve also made many sacrifices

For the love of my life,

Pushing aside my thoughts

I even became his wife.

***

I’ve seen little sacrifices made daily

As people try to be kind,

Allowing a stranger to jump in

In front of them in a line.

***

I’ve dropped my last few dollars

In a homeless guy’s outstretched hand,

Knowing I ate lunch today

Whereby his next meal’s unplanned.

***

I’ve been so broke at times

That I’ve forgone my next meal,

Simply so my cat could eat

Hungry animals are my Achilles’ heel.

***

I’ve felt my heart swell in joy

When a teenager chooses to stand,

Allowing the elderly to sit instead

What a well raised young man.

***

I’ve glowed with maternal pride

When my sons stand against the crowd,

To ensure the lonely excluded child

Knows they can play, it is allowed.

***

But then there’s the ultimate sacrifice

That occurs over and over again,

A sacrifice here, a sacrifice there

Automatically without complaint.

***

It’s the sacrifice of a Mother

Given for her children’s sake,

Sacrifices others may find difficult

But for her it’s a piece of cake.

***

She’ll sacrifice her sleep

Give up the last morsel on her plate,

Drink her coffee cold

Automatically without debate.

***

She will quickly change her plans

At the drop of a hat if need be,

She’ll continually put her child first

In front of anything she may need.

***

This ultimate sacrifice is not just for today

She’ll spent the rest of her life sacrificing,

For her offspring to be healthy and happy

You’ll find the Mother forever compromising.

******************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

love poems
10

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.