Poets logo

The Trenches

In the trenches, the dirtiest kind...

By N'jeri BintaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
By N'jeri Binta

In the trenches, the dirtiest kind.

How did I get here?

I must have lost my fucking mind.

Gotta get out of here, feels like there’s nowhere to go.

Gotta make up my mind, time to hustle and flow.

Mind made up, I feel it in my gut.

Forces reaching out, hands pull me up.

I’m out! There’s everywhere to go!

Too many options, damn I don’t know.

I’ll take this route…

Yeah, look at me now all cleaned up, even got a little clout.

On my way no stumbling still walking, my truth is where I’m headed.

No time for talking.

I’m not walking no more now I’m running.

Running at my dream, hell yeah I’m comin’!

Dammit there’s a trench up ahead.

My momentum is fast enough, I won’t go around.

I’ll jump over it instead!

Oh shit, this thing is wide!

I should have gone around, my pride.

Ok, now it’s time. Fuck it, it’s do or die!

I leap, below is something like the same trench I left.

Damn, I misjudged my very last step.

Almost made it across, holding on by one pinky nail.

I slipped! In the trenches once again.

I failed?

How can this be, I thought I had it all together…free.

Let me pick myself up.

I realize I broke my arm.

So much pain, I am alarmed more than that my life’s trajectory has been harmed.

Can’t climb with a broken arm, time to get resourceful and not forget that I’m charmed.

Armed, with a faith that will only strengthen with this trial.

Line up one arm, two legs, and courage!

Single file!

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

N'jeri Binta

I am a soul happy artist, and writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.